Issuing & Destroying Controlled Copies

The Controlled Copies feature is a way of restricting and tracking the number of printed versions of a specific document. Clients typically use this feature for documents such as batch records. If a document has the Authorized Users Can Issue Controlled Copies security setting, any user without the Controlled Copy permission will only be able to view the document within the application. Any user with the Controlled Copy permission can view the document within the application and can download a highly secured .pdc PDF file. This file can only be viewed using the Locklizard application and the user can only print the file one time through the Locklizard application. A user with the appropriate permissions can view all of the controlled copy instances and their current status on the Controlled Copies tab within a specific document. 

Before you can issue or destroy a controlled copy, you will need to set up/complete the items below:

  1. Email help@zenqms.com to confirm that your account has been configured for controlled copy issuance
  2. Download and set up the Locklizard application
  3. Make sure that your user has Controlled Copy permission at the document category level
  4. (optional, destroying controlled copies) Make sure that your user has Can Certify Destruction of a Controlled Copy permission at the User Group level

 

ISSUING A CONTROLLED COPY

1. Log into the ZenQMS

2. Click on the Documents Dashboard (on the Home tab)

3. On the Documents Dashboard, select Documents: Full Table from the drop-down

4. Click  next to the document 

5. Select Issue Controlled Copy

6. From the  drop-down, select a user

7. Provide details under the Key details (max 50 characters) section

8. Click 

 

DESTROYING CONTROLLED COPIES

1. Log into the ZenQMS

2. Click on the Documents Dashboard (on the Home tab)

3. On the Documents Dashboard, select Documents: Full Table from the drop-down

4. Click Edit next to the document

5. Click on the Controlled Copies tab

6. Select the checkbox next to the controlled copy that you would like to mark as destroyed

7. Click 

* Please note that this does not actually destroy or modify the document file, this creates an audit trail entry in the document noting that you've destroyed the physical copy outside of the system

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.