NOTE: There are no permissions a user must be assigned to, to participate in a collaborative editing session. The initiators of the editing session do not be to be logged into ZenQMS or be active in the editing session in real time for users to enter the session and mark edits. Whenever a user uses the editing session link, a new session and a new revision will be created. The URL link will stop working for all users once the document has moved forward from a "draft", "draft reviewed" and/or "reviewed" state.
Any active user can participate in a collaborative editing session when the Microsoft for the Web editing session link is shared with them. Collaborative editing sessions can be held on documents that are only in a "draft", "draft reviewed" and/or "reviewed" state.
To successfully participate in a Microsoft for the Web collaborative editing session, please follow the steps below.
1. Log into ZenQMS. Once logged in, open a new tab and paste the collaborative editing link that was shared with you. Click enter; this will bring you into the collaborative editing session:
2. You will see your name at the top right of the collaborative session:
3. If there are other users in the active session at the same time, you will see their initials at the top right corner as well:
4. Users have three editing options available to them once they are in the editing session:
5. All edits that are made in the collaborative editing session can be viewed in real time as you are working:
6. A new revision is created every time a user enters the collaborative editing session. These revisions are saved at the document level:
7. The author of the document can choose which revision they would like to use as the final file:
8. All collaborative editing session activity will be captured in the audit trail at the document level:
9. Once the document is moved from a draft state, the collaborative editing link will not work anymore for users and they will be meet with the following error:
REMINDER: When all the users that are editing the file close the editing session frame/window, after a minute, the session is "ended". This means that, past this moment, whenever someone else tries to access the editing session link again, a new session and a new revision will be created