With our 27.0.0 release, we are introducing Microsoft for the Web, which is a collaborative editing tool that allows the ability for users to edit a document as a group inside of ZenQMS. This collaborative editing tool will allow all edits to a "draft", "draft reviewed" and/or "reviewed" document to occur in the application in a controlled manner.
For testing purposes, we are inviting users into a test account to test this new feature before it is deployed. Please follow the directions below to successfully test the ZenQMS collaborative editing tool.
1. Log into ZenQMS and select the "+" button highlighted below and under "create a new", select "document":
2. Give the test document a name and select which document category you would like to assign this document to. Click "create" when finished:
3. In the "draft" document management window, you will see the collaborative editing icon ( ""). Please click this to start the editing session:
NOTE: Users can use the collaborative editing tool on files that are in Excel, PowerPoint, or Word Document format. Changes made to a file in the editing session may take up to 5 minutes for the changes to be visible in ZenQMS.
4. Once the collaborate icon "" is selected, a pop up will appear. The file name that will be opened for editing will be displayed, as well as, the button to enter the collaborative editing session. Click the grey button to start the editing session:
5. The editing session will open in a new tab after it is initiated. The URL link displayed is the link that you will share with others to join the editing session:
6. When the invited users have entered the session, you will see their initials at the top left. You will also see the edits that they make in real-time:
7. Document edits, added by all users that are in the editing session, are saved directly in the application. The newest revision will replace the original file that was uploaded. All revisions can be found on the document management/review window:
8. You can change to a previous revision if needed. Each editing session will create a new revision:
9. Users can enter the editing session at anytime if they have the URL link, as long as the document is in a "draft", "draft reviewed" and/or "reviewed" state. Every time a user enters the editing session and makes changes, a new revision is created.
10. If a user is logged out of ZenQMS and tries to enter a session via the editing session URL link, they will be met with an error screen:
10. All collaborative editing activity is captured and can be viewed in the Audit Trail at the document level: